Click the play button ▶ to watch the video.

If you need to have focused, private conversations with people on your team, create a private channel.

Most channels are standard ones — everyone on the team can see them as well as view and participate in conversations, share files, and more.

With a private channel, members of a team must be specifically added to it to participate, see content, and to see the channel appear in their list of channels.

(Note: Team owners can create private channels, and allow members to create them. Whoever creates a private channel can add people to it.)

  

Try it!

Do this activity to get channels to work for you:

  

Create a private channel

  1. Go to a team you want to create a channel for, select More options > Add channel.

  2. Type a name and description.

  3. Under Privacy, select the down arrow and choose Private – Accessible only to a specific group of people within the team.

  4. Select Next.

  5. Type in the names of who you’d like to invite including guests.

    Note: People must already be members or guests of a team to be added to a private channel.

  6. Select Add.

    People you’ve added will see it appear in their channel list with a lock next to the name. And to see everyone that’s been added to a private channel, select the Open people pane.

  

Share a file and Meet Now

  • When you share a file in a private channel, it’s viewable and accessible only to people with access to the channel. These shared files live in a separate SharePoint site away from the standard channels. This ensure access only to members of the private channel.

  • To meet with just the people in a private channel, select Meet now.